Merry Christmas?
This is awesome. I got a new user registration for the blog this morning, immediately followed by this comment:
wow. you really are a cunt. i’m glad baker socked you. i hope it hurt. you should save a copy of this blather; then you can read it years from now after you’ve grown up, and you’ll be deeply embarrassed.
From Alright, so here’s what happened, 2008/12/25 at 1:01 PM
Classic. Of course there's no name attached to it, because you could never expect someone on the internet to actually get behind the shit they post, right? So I start looking, since when you register as a user on the blog, there's some whois information available:
OrgName: City of Seattle OrgID: CITYOF-23 Address: 720 2nd Ave, Suite 300 City: Seattle StateProv: WA PostalCode: 98104 Country: US NetRange: 156.74.0.0 - 156.74.255.255 CIDR: 156.74.0.0/16 NetName: SEATTLE NetHandle: NET-156-74-0-0-1 Parent: NET-156-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Assignment NameServer: NORTON.CI.SEATTLE.WA.US NameServer: RALPH.CI.SEATTLE.WA.US NameServer: ALICE.CI.SEATTLE.WA.US Comment: RegDate: 1991-12-19 Updated: 2001-12-10 RTechHandle: ZC163-ARIN RTechName: City of Seattle RTechPhone: +1-206-684-3502 RTechEmail: citywide.iit@ci.seattle.wa.us
I search a little on that address, and it turns out to be the United Way office in Seattle:
United Way Of King County Main Office
720 2 Ave
Seattle, WA 98104
(206) 461-3700
But there's no suite number, and it's Christmas fucking morning. Did someone really send this from there today? Makes no sense. So I google the e-mail address, expecting it to be fake and not to come up with anything. Except I get one result. On the Tyler Hamilton comments section, there's this:
hi, tyler, well i herd that you wont be able to race on the pro tour because of the four year suspension, well that is to bad but if you want you can come and race for my team. i am starting up a team (jed's smoked meats) here in omaha and you can join up if you want, the money wont be great to start with but you can get all the free bbq beef and jerky you want for free. let me know if your interested as soon as you can, because if you dont want to race for me then im going to ask floyd,your friend,
jed
jed wisen
omaha, nebraska us of a
Sep 13, 2006 at 1:46 AM
E-mail:runup7@yahoo.com
Nothing else turns up anywhere for "Jed Wisen," so it's obviously an alias, even if Mr. "Wisen" and I do share a disdain for dopers and affinity for internet terrorism. That was pretty good work he did there.
I think I've decided that I'm going to approve it. It's good to have some dissenting opinions, and I'm happy to give my enemies a little rope to hang themselves with.
Merry Christmas to you, runup7@yahoo.com!

Comments